Where I’m From in Sound


Project Statement

This piece was inspired by Lyon’s poem Where I’m From.  The process of capturing the sounds of the people, places, objects and events that speak of my origins was as follows.

I conducted listening exercises and collected sound as spot recordings, ambient noises and voices from the places that speak to me of home. In developing a conceptual approach,  I envisioned a performative narrative in which generations engaged across time.  I focused on experimental strategies of voice in radio reportage at This American Life and ABC Radio National.  Class exercises and discussions influenced my experiments in recording and editing a piece in which sounds function to ‘voice’ where I’m from.

Leave a Reply

